The Avatars Of Lord Ganesha

Lord Ganesha LovesLord Ganesha is an almighty praised and worshipped before taking on anything new in life. Thus, Ganesh Chaturthi is an occasion celebrated in great pride and wherein Lord Ganesha is revered. There many temples and idols that have been constructed in honor of Ganesha all over the world. To prove people’s belief in him, the archeologists have found out evidences that he was worshipped in the temples of Northern India right from the first century AD. As per the Ganesha Purana, there are about 32 iconic forms of Lord Ganesha but in reality only 16 of them are popular and considered to be important.

YOU MAY LIKE “Ganesh Chaturthi Mp3 Song”

The various forms of Ganeshas are not diverse but only vary in their personification in terms of attributes and aspects. The 16 forms of Ganesha are usually used to make idols or images for the temples. These forms of the almighty have shown to possess different color, posture, size, shape, and various objects in his hands. Ganapathi is also ideally worshipped in a unique form that is kumbha wherein a coconut is kept on top of the opening of a pot or vessel that is surrounded by five mango leaves. There are even more forms including salagramas, yantras, and lingas that Ganesha is worshipped in some places. Different places worship him in different forms. Even the swastika is believed to symbolize Lord Ganesha as he is considered to be the lord of luck and prosperity. According to the Hindus, Vigneshwara is believed to be the obstacle remover when a new event, business, or anything is going to be launched or started for the first time. Here are the 32 forms of the son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati:

you may like: Free Garba Songs

  • Bala Ganapathi: This child form of Ganesha represents the Earth. The elephant faced idol has four hands holding fruits such as mangos, jackfruits, banana, sugarcane, and his trunk holds his favorite sweet modak.
  • Bhakti Ganapati: This devotee form of Ganesha has four arms holding coconut, sweet made of jaggery, mango, and banana.
  • Dvija Ganapati: This form depicts Lord Brahma and means to be born twice as well. He has four heads and four hands holding a staff, palm-leaf inscription, noose, meditation beads, goad, and water pot.
  • Maha Ganapati: This popular form is seated with one of his consort on his left thigh. He has three eyes, crescent moon on his head, and ten arms holding a pomegranate, tusk, a sugarcane bow, a blue lily, chakra, ratnakumbha, noose, a sprig of paddy, a lotus, and a mace.
  • Taruna Ganapati: This form is believed to bless his devotees with youthful and beautiful looks. He bears a sugarcane stalk, rose apple, green paddy, goad, noose, and wood apple. His eight arms represent fertility.
  • Vira Ganapati: This 16 armed idol is a brave form of Lord Ganesha. He is standing with weaponry including chakra, goad, shield, banner, sword, bow and arrow, discus, goblin, large hammer, trident, spear, noose, sword, ax, and mace. This form helps overcome and evil and ignoranceLord Ganesha Loves
  • Shakti Ganapati: It is a powerful and Tantric worship form that bears four and holds Shakti Devi on his left knee. His right arm is in Abhya Mudra for giving blessings devotees and the other hands hold noose, garland, and goad.
  • Kshipra Ganapati: This form of the almighty is known to reward devotees as he is easily mollified. His four arms hold a broken tusk, a kalpavriksha sprig, noose, and goad. His trunk holds a pot of jewels.
  • Lakshmi Ganapati: This fortunate form of the Lord has Goddess Siddhi and Goddess Budhi on both his thighs. His eight arms show gestures such as varada mudra, Abhya Mudra and also hold a green Parrot, sword, pomegranate, noose, goad, water vessel, and kalpavriksha sprig. His consorts bear white lotus flowers.
  • Ucchhishta Ganapati: Lord of superiority and offerings is sitting with Shakti Devi on his left thigh. His tusk is curled and has six hands holding a blue lotus, the veena, meditation beads, pomegranate, and a paddy stalk.
  • Heramba Ganapati: This form depicts five heads and ten arms. The mother’s loved son and protector of the weak curves his right hand in Abhya Mudra for bestowing blessings and the left arm offers wishes. The other hands hold a broken tusk, noose, battle hammer, japa beads mala (Rudrashaka), garland, a battle ax, a fruit, and modak.
  • Vijaya Ganapati: It is the victorious one depicted to be seated on top his divine vehicle, Mooshika, the mouse. His four arms have a noose, broken tusk, a ripe mango, and goad.
  • Vighna Ganapati: This form is known to remove obstacles from life of his devotees. His eight arms that have weaponry (noose, goad, ax, discus and a sharp tusk) to fight obstacles and the others hold a modak, flower-tipped arrow, and sugarcane.
  • Siddhi Ganapati: This is a relaxed form as he has accomplished his intellect. His four arms bear a mango, a posy of flowers, a sugarcane stalk with leaves and roots, and the battle ax. The trunk is curved around a sweet sesame ball.
  • Nritya Ganapati: This the vibrant, happy dancer form of him. All the fingers of his four arms have rings. His arms bear a tusk, goad, noose and modaka. Worshiping this form brings success and proficiency in fine arts.
  • Urdhva Ganapati: This elevated form of Ganapati is sitting in a posture with his six arms holding a mace, paddy sprig, a lotus, sugar cane bow, arrow, and a blue lily.
  • Dhundhi Ganapati
  • Durga Ganapati
  • Dvimukha Ganapati
  • Ekadanta Ganapati
  • Ekakshara Ganapati
  • Haridra Ganapati
  • Kshipra Prasada Ganapati
  • Rinamochana Ganapati
  • Sankatahara Ganapati
  • Trimukha Ganapati
  • Tryakshara Ganapati
  • Uddanda Ganapati
  • Sinha Ganapati
  • Srishti Ganapati
  • Varada Ganapati
  • Yoga Ganapati

Thus, decide for the one you want coming home this Ganesh Chaturthi.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.